A look at the AFL’s best teams


* Collingwood 1927-1930.

After losing the 1925 and 1926 grand finals, the Magpies captured four consecutive flags from 1927 – a streak of success which remains unequalled in VFL/AFL history. Under legendary coach Jock McHale, the Collingwood’s premiership winners were dubbed ‘The Machine’ and lost just 11 games in an incredible four-year span.

* Melbourne 1955-1960

With master coach Norm Smith at the helm, the Demons lost the 1954 grand final but claimed the next three premierships. The heady stretch was halted in 1958 when defeated in the grand final by arch-rivals Collingwood, before Melbourne again took the flag in 1959 and 1960. Ron Barassi played in all five premierships.

* Hawthorn 1983-91

In a nine-year span, the Hawks failed to reach the grand final only once. Hawthorn claimed five premierships with Allan Jeans coaching in three flags and Alan Joyce in two with a team boasting all-time greats including Leigh Matthews, Michael Tuck, Jason Dunstall, Dermott Brereton and Gary Ayres.

* Brisbane 2001-2003

Coached by Leigh Matthews, the Lions were the undisputed kings of the AFL jungle with three consecutive premierships before losing the 2004 grand final. The dynasty was captained by Michael Voss and featured Jonathan Brown, Simon Black, Jason Akermanis and Nigel Lappin.

* Hawthorn 2013-2015

Master coach Alastair Clarkson lost the 2012 grand final but then guided Hawthorn to three successive premierships. Captained by Luke Hodge, the Hawks overcame the defection of Lance Franklin after the 2013 flag in a remarkable three-peat which defied the AFL’s modern-day equalisation policies.

Source link

Leave a comment

Sign Up Now

Become a member of our online community and get tickets to upcoming matches or sports events faster!